Kind replies

 Reply

A number of Git hosting tools (GitLab and GitHub at least) use origin/HEAD to denote primary branch on the upstream so you could probably do something with that

 Reply

That's a shame. The thought is that when sitting behind a gateway you may have an API key and potentially other headers, but locally you wouldn't need them as you're going direct

 Reply

Dang that's gotta be tough - I can kinda see the angle it's coming from, but the flip side is stopping people wanting to share thoughts outside of the org, which is definitely a bad thing!

 Reply

I use Matomo and that has both DNT by default and the ability to disable cookies. I've been using it for years and recommend it - it's lightweight to self-host, or you can pay ~Β£3/mo for it to be hosted for you

 Reply

Yeah I think as you've said elsewhere it's especially difficult as colleagues may not be as up to date on this stuff - are you able to maybe wrap the libraries into some guardrails? So things are easier and safer to use?

 Reply

I've got a tonne of great ones I'm planning on putting in a picture frame then hanging up instead of it being on my laptop, but I've still not done that either πŸ˜…

 Reply

That's such a lovely idea! πŸ‘πŸ½

 Reply

Depending on what you want to do, you may be able to follow how Terence Eden has done it before in https://shkspr.mobi/blog/2019/12/add-review-to-goodreads-from-schema-markup/

 Reply

The onus isn't on people to dig into settings to find where they've been opted-in to something public. It should be private by default, and have the option presented to you so you can make an informed decision

 Reply

Glad to hear everything is OK!

 Reply

"likely weren't" - this is the whole point! "likely" implies that there were people who were affected, having the risk of assault, rape, or murder. It's very unlikely that we'll know for sure, but making a feature opt-in to literally protect people isn't the end of the world. "negative default settings" was the state of play before the change. They didn't give people a choice, and didn't provide sufficient support to users to understand this. So by making the change, we're now in "positive default settings"

 Reply

It only had high social appeal because no one knew it was on, so you're lamenting something that never truly was. But as we've said, if you want to continue using it with others, all you need to do is enable it before running together

 Reply

I mean, you still can use the feature can't you? It's not like Andrew has gotten Strava to completely remove the feature. If you, and anyone you run with, want to turn it on, he's given you the link πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™‚οΈ

 Reply

Sorry, only just seen this. As mentioned on the event, link is available for members of the Tech Nottingham Slack